US issues new travel ban on N Korea, Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen

U.S. President Donald Trump addresses the 72nd United Nations General Assembly at U.N. headquarters in New York, U.S., September 19, 2017. REUTERS/Lucas Jackson

Trump issues new travel restrictions for N Korea, Chad, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen.

President Donald Trump announced new restrictions on travel to the United States for eight countries as his ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries was set expire Sunday, 90 days after it went into effect.

Trump kept restrictions on five of the six country — Iran Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, lifting restrictions on Sudan. He added new restrictions on visitors from Chad, North Korea and Venezuela.

The Department of Homeland Security has recommended the president sign off on new, more targeted restrictions on foreign nationals from countries it says refuse to share information with the U.S. or haven’t taken necessary security precautions.

“The acting secretary has recommended actions that are tough and that are tailored, including restrictions and enhanced screening for certain countries,” said Miles Taylor, counselor to acting Homeland Security Secretary Elaine Duke.